Tazewell County Public Library

Library Updates

Posted by jwilkes on

Hours Changing at Tazewell County Public Library (TCPL)

Beginning Monday, July 2, 2018 TCPL will be making changes to Saturday hours and night hours. This is due to the recent budget cuts in Tazewell County which has resulted in a reduction of staff.

TCPL libraries usually open at 9:00 a.m. and close at 5:30 p.m. On specific nights libraries have remained open until 8:00 p.m. Changes are as follows:

Night Hours

Bluefield Branch: Instead of opening at 9:00 a.m. on Tuesdays, it will be open from 11:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Richlands Branch: Instead of opening at 9:00 a.m. on Mondays, it will be open from 11:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Tazewell Main: The library will close at 5:30 p.m. on Mondays Instead of being open until 8:00 p.m. The library’s hours will remain the same on Thursdays, being open from 9:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Saturday Hours

All three TCPL libraries will be open 4 hours on Saturdays instead of 8 hours, and will be open from 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.

New Hours

Day Tazewell Bluefield Richlands
Monday 9am – 5:30pm 9am – 5:30pm 11am – 8pm
Tuesday 9am – 5:30pm 11am – 8pm 9am – 5:30pm
Wednesday 9am – 5:30pm 9am – 5:30pm 9am – 5:30pm
Thursday 9am – 8pm 9am – 5:30pm 9am – 5:30pm
Friday 9am – 5:30pm 9am – 5:30pm 9am – 5:30pm
Saturday 9am – 1pm 9am – 1pm 9am – 1pm
Sunday Closed Closed Closed

We are sorry for any inconvenience this causes anyone. We hope this change will not be a permanent one, and that we will be able to restore any cut hours when our county economy improves!


No comments

Posted by jwilkes on

One of our initiatives at the library is to develop opportunities for outreach in the community. We look for ways to provide services or programs at other locations, outside of the library. This helps us reach
people who are not able to come to the library or who do not know about all the library offers. Here are two of our current initiatives!

Book Buddies! – This is an outreach program to the Appalachian Agency for Senior Citizens at their location in Richlands, near Southwest Virginia Community College. Library staff goes to the senior center once a month, taking books and other materials that can be checked out by those who are attending programs at the senior center. There are usually about 20-25 people who are making use of this service and we get very positive feedback!

Trivia Night – This program takes library staff to the new local brewery in Tazewell –  Painted Peak Brewing Company.
Staff have prepared Trivia questions and teams of people participate in the all the fun. The library staff also tells people about what’s going on at the library and has information for them to pick up. This has also been very successful, having 45-50 people participating in Trivia night each time. More people meeting library staff – more people learning about the library and people winning prizes provided by the management of the brewery!

We look forward to developing more outreach programs and services throughout Tazewell County!


No comments

Posted by jwilkes on

Useful Links for Filing Your 2017 Tax Returns

Internal Revenue Service


Virginia State Income Tax


West Virginia State Income Tax


Other Organizations

No comments

Posted by jwilkes on


The Son by Phillip Meyer
Reviewed by Lena Powers

In the 1800s, teenager Eli McCullough is taken captive by Comanche while living with his parents in Texas. Eli quickly makes a place for himself in his new home, learning the arts, language, and hunting styles of the people around him. When the tribe faces problems with settlers taking over their land, Eli is forced to return to living in the world he grew up in. Soon, Eli joins the Texas rangers, fights for the South in the American Civil War, and eventually, establishes a massive ranch in South Texas. Eli is ruthless, coldhearted, and cunning in his quest for money and power. This book tells the story of Eli, his son, and the impact that a villainous man can have on his family.

This is a good book for anyone who likes western sagas like Lonesome Dove and There Will Be Blood. The book has also been adapted into a new television series on AMC.

Available at TCPL: Book | Large Print | Book on CD | Digital Audiobook

No comments

Posted by jwilkes on


Once and For All by Sarah Dessen
Reviewed by Amanda Miller

As the daughter of a famed wedding planner, Louna Barrett has become an expert on romance.  When it comes to love, however, past tragedy has left her cynical. When a happy-go-lucky serial dater named Ambrose joins their wedding planning team, he encourages Louna to give “epic” love another chance. Soon she must decide weather to open herself up again even if there’s a possibility of being hurt.

Romance, humor, and just the right amount of painful reality makes this the perfect read for anybody who is looking for a sweet and charming story filled with lovable characters and happy-ever-afters.

Available at TCPL: Book | Digital eBook | Digital Audiobook

No comments

Posted by jwilkes on


The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley by Hannah Tinti
Reviewed by Cassie Ogle

Loo spent her early childhood moving from place to place, usually on a moment’s notice. Belongings often left behind in the middle of the night, except for the guns and the shrine. Samuel Hawley has been running from a past that Loo knows nothing about. Hawley, seeing that Loo needs a more permanent home, goes to the last place on earth he is welcome – the hometown of his deceased wife. The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley follows Loo as she grows from a child adjusting to small town life to a young woman, while also telling the stories of each of Hawley’s twelve bullet scars. Loo is a strong willed child that becomes an even more headstrong young woman. Each of Hawley’s stories give a glimpse of how a parent’s past can unknowingly shape their child’s future. This book was a fantastic read and I was sad when it ended. I wanted to stay in Loo & Hawley’s world just a little bit longer.

Available at TCPL: Book | Book on CD

No comments

Posted by jwilkes on


Ruined by Amy Tintera
Reviewed by Laken Lester

War has ravaged the land of Ruina. Emelina Flores’ parents have been killed and her sister kidnapped, leaving her with nothing except the burning desire for revenge. Although she is a useless Ruined-completely devoid of any magic-she plans to infiltrate the enemy’s kingdom, disguised as the crown prince’s betrothed, and kill the king and royal family.

However, the closer she gets to the prince, the more she questions her mission. The guard she placed around her heart slowly falls. The saying quotes “all is fair in love and war,” but opening her heart could be her deadliest mistake.

Available at TCPL: Book

No comments

Posted by jwilkes on


Final Girls by Riley Sager
Reviewed by Jami McDonald

While attending college, Quincy Carpenter became the sole survivor in a mass killing spree that left her five best friends dead. Ten years have passed, Quincy is now recognized as one of three famous “final girls” (a term popularized by certain types of horror movies that commonly end with only one lead female character having survived). Despite her traumatic experience, Quincy seems to be doing well for herself in the opening of the book. She is involved in a healthy relationship with her boyfriend and runs a successful blog about creative baking techniques. Things take a dramatic turn, however, when Lisa, another “final girl” who survived an equally disturbing experience, dies in an apparent suicide. Lisa’s death forces Quincy to reexamine her own tragic past, leading to a very exciting ending in this fast-paced thriller.

Told in segments that focus on either Quincy’s present life or the night that her five friends were murdered, Finals Girls is a novel that will appeal to fans of John Carpenter and Wes Craven films.

Available at TCPL: Book | Large Print

No comments

Posted by jwilkes on


Holidays on Ice by David Sedaris
Reviewed by Jade Crabtree

If you think your holiday experiences have been crazy, just listen to David Sedaris recount some of his best (worst) memories. I highly recommend listening to this on Overdrive (read by Sedaris himself) in order to get the full effect. Sedaris’ writing is biting and laugh out loud funny. The author covers everything from his time as an elf to spending Halloween in the medical examiner’s office. You will laugh, cry and maybe pee a little listening to this.

Available at TCPL: Overdrive Audiobook

No comments

Posted by jwilkes on


The Bird Artist by Howard Norman
Reviewed by Linda Shroyer

I love birds and art so when I stumbled upon the novel, The Bird Artist by Howard Norman, I was intrigued. The story opens with a confession, “My name is Fabian Vas. I live in Witless Bay Newfoundland….I am a bird artist and have more or less made a living at it. Yet I murdered the lighthouse keeper, Botho August, and that is an equal part of how I think of myself.” That is the reader’s first glimpse into the lives of the people living in a remote coastal village in 1911. I chuckled at Fabian honing his art skills via a correspondence course with the testy artist Isaac Sprague. The townspeople are quirky but endearing: Enoch Handle, who pilots the mail boat, his red-headed daughter Margaret, whose methodical bookkeeping skills run contrary to the way she lives her life—with gusto and abandon. And I loved the spirited Mrs. Paulette Bath who oversees the town’s library housed in her living room. Curl up on the sofa with a hot cup of tea and enjoy Fabian Vas’s story of what drove him to the lighthouse that dark night and how it altered the course of his life.

Available at TCPL: Book

No comments
  • Tazewell Library

    129 Main St.
    P.O. Box 929
    Tazewell, VA 24651
    (276) 988-2541

  • Bluefield Library

    108 Huffard Drive
    Bluefield, VA 24605
    (276) 326-1577



    TCPL Staff E-mail

  • Richlands Library

    102 Suffolk Avenue
    P.O. Box 860
    Richlands, VA 24641
    (276) 964-5282

This site is made possible by a grant from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services. It is managed by the The Library of Virginia Library Development and Networking Division.